Diabetes Awareness Month-New Recipes

As a diabetic trying to eat healthier, I had to find something that would satisfy my sweet tooth. The catch is, my body has reactions to almost every sweetener on the market, so I use sugar in moderation… But that doesn’t help the sweet tooth. I have found a collection of sweets and snacks that use things like palm sugar and honey. Tonight, I am trying a chocolate almond mug cake with just one Tablespoon of my favorite low fat ice cream. I am loving this!!

November is Diabetes Awareness month. Yes folks, the fold who decide to bring awareness to diseases picked the month that begins a string of sweet devouring holidays as Diabetes Awareness month. I am going to attempt to find some diabetic friendly recipes and try them out. I will share the recipes and my thoughts and experiences with these throughout the month.

This is my first. The recipe makes four servings. I made up the dry ingredients and put them in a jar and divided the wet ingredients.

This mug cake is awesome. It is something different. Rich chocolate with creamy almond filling and crunchy bits of almond was overly sweet. I added just 1 tablespoon of low fat ice cream to tone it down. If I had some cream, I would have used homemade whipped cream. With that, this just hit.the.spot!!

_20161104_195030

2-Minute Chocolate Almond Mug Cake

The wet ingredient measurements for one cake are added to 2 tbsp of dry mix:

1 1/2 teaspoon honey
1 tbsp milk or almond milk
1 1/2 teaspoon coconut oil (as a heart patient,I used olive)
Pinch of kosher salt.

Filling for 1:
1 tbsp almond butter
1/4 teaspoon coconut palm sugar

I ground 4 almonds for the top. If you try it, let me know what you think!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

