Recipe Reduction Rehab: Upside Down Pizza

I love watching a show called “Recipe Rehab.”  I love all of the new recipes I see there.  I do have one problem with the show.  When I take a family favorite and make it healthier, I want it to be as close to the original as possible, not change it into a completely different dish.  Today’s recipe I will be making healthier is UpsideDown Pizza.  Now, the recipe I found, first was a healthier version than the original posted here, but I have since found a way to make it even healthier, still.  So, here we go…

I am using SparkPeople’s recipe calculator to get an accurate calorie and fat count.  The original recipe, is  LOADED with fat, calories, and grease (https://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=3067321) and includes ground beef, pepperoni, and lots of cheese, with refrigerated crescent rolls.  So how does this add up?
Nutrition Facts:

    • Calories631.5
    • Total Fat43.0 g
    • Saturated Fat17.9 g
    • Polyunsaturated Fat1.0 g
    • Monounsaturated Fat11.0 g
    • Cholesterol110.1 mg
    • Sodium1,288.6 mg
    • Potassium552.3 mg
    • Total Carbohydrate29.5 g
    • Dietary Fiber2.8 g
    • Sugars6.7 g
    • Protein29.9 g

To rehab this recipe,  I used lean ground beef, reduced the amount of pepperoni to about 18 slices.  That came out to about 3 slices per serving, and the pepperoni I used was 10 calories per pepperoni.  I reduced the amount of mozzarella to 4 oz. (one cup of grated), and I didn’t use crescent rolls.  The topping recipe is: 1 cup flour, 1 cup skim milk, 2 eggs, 1 Tbsp olive oil.  Pour the topping on top before baking.

This comes out to be:

  • Calories388.6
  • Total Fat17.7 g
  • Saturated Fat6.2 g
  • Polyunsaturated Fat0.3 g
  • Monounsaturated Fat2.1 g
  • Cholesterol62.5 mg
  • Sodium685.2 mg
  • Potassium90.4 mg
  • Total Carbohydrate24.8 g
  • Dietary Fiber1.6 g
  • Sugars4.1 g
  • Protein31.4 g

     

    That is cutting calories by 242.9 calories, fats by 25.9 g., Sat. Fat was cut by 11.7 g., cholesterol by 47.6, and because I am a stroke patient, the sodium is so important.  Sodium was cut from 1288.6 to 685.2. That is a reduction of almost 47%!!  The important thing is, this healthier version is my family’s favorite meal.  I have made the more fattening one and the comments were negative.  They complained about the grease, even though I had drained and rinsed, the bake in the oven pulled out more fat.  They didn’t like the crust of crescents (which also adds grease) like the one I made.  It was too thick for them.  The more pepperoni used, the more grease is added.  I actually got sick from one serving of the higher fat version, from the amount of grease.

    My family actually likes a thinner crust, so if you also like a thinner crust, just cut the topping recipe in half.  That changes the nutrition to:

    • Calories317.1
    • Total Fat15.2 g
    • Saturated Fat6.0 g
    • Polyunsaturated Fat0.2 g
    • Monounsaturated Fat1.2 g
    • Cholesterol62.0 mg
    • Sodium676.4 mg
    • Potassium47.4 mg
    • Total Carbohydrate15.8 g
    • Dietary Fiber1.3 g
    • Sugars3.1 g
    • Protein28.2 g

      This is a picture of tonight’s Upside down pizza.  I often use what I have on hand and change to fit my time schedule.  I happened to have a flat crust made with honey that I had found at Dollar Tree.  I cut the edges to fit the disposable pan I had.  It was a time saver, and actually cut even more calories.  A salad on the side is a healthy, filling addition to this meal.

      IMG_20160329_211005599_HDR

       

      This entry was posted in Cooking tips, Diabetic Recipe, dinner, family recipes, Frugal Recipes, Healthy Recipes, nutrition, Quick Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

      Leave a Reply

      