Healing Through The Word; Part 1

Funny things a stroke does to your brain. It effects the brain in such a way, that even though you remember or know how to do something, the brain can’t communicate that to certain muscles. For example. I remembered how to write with my dominant left hand, even trained my right hand how during this time, but I couldn’t convince my left hand to remember. While concentration has not ever been a strong suit for me, it has pretty much gone out the window and won’t come home when I call. Gone are the days of my long, in depth Bible studies. Since my stroke, I have been praying that God would heal my mind so I could focus and study. I have longed and thirsted to be bathing in God’s Word, once again. As I pray, I am faced with the reality of getting away from those long studies even before my stroke, so the stroke can’t be blamed for my sluggardness in my study. God is using the stroke to show me I have been the one to move. Now, what I don’t have seems precious.

Wednesday night, during our life group at church, God spoke a quiet but profound thought to my mind. “You have been going about this the wrong way! Instead of praying for your mind to be healed so you can study, why not study so your mind can be healed through God’s Word?” Wow, that was a “knock the wind out of me” thought.

So I began looking up verses on healing, I am going to study those, in context, and see what God reveals through His Word. Today, I am starting with Jeremiah 30.17:

“‘For I will restore you to health

And I will heal you of your wounds,’
declares the Lord,

‘Because they have called you an outcast, saying:

“It is Zion; no one cares for her.”’
 

When I look at this verse, along with the whole of chapter 30, I see that God is promising to restore Israel(Zion). This chapter is rich in promises and encouragement, but it is also rich in one of the attributes of God we want to forget: a God of wrath.

As chapter 30 begins, God is giving Jeremiah this prophecy of restoration. In verse 3 we see:

“For behold, days are coming,’ declares the Lord, ‘when I will restore the fortunes of My people Israel and Judah.’ The Lord says, ‘I will also bring them back to the land that I gave to their forefathers and they shall possess it.’”

What are those coming days? We see the answer in the previous chapter, the description of those days. In chapter 29 is found, one of those verses we like to use for encouragement, but it is often thrown around out of context:

“For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.”

God certainly knows the plans He has for us, and He does give us a future and a hope, but when I look at this in context, I see that this promise will come AFTER 70 years of punishment and captivity. This is what the entire passage says (Italics and underlines are my emphasis):

“For thus says the Lord, ‘When seventy years have been completed for Babylon, I will visit you and fulfill My good word to you, to bring you back to this place. For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.  I will be found by you,’ declares the Lord, ‘and I will restore your fortunes and will gather you from all the nations and from all the places where I have driven you,’ declares the Lord, ‘and I will bring you back to the place from where I sent you into exile.’

Going back to chapter 30, the prophecy goes on to say that God is hearing their cries of terror, not peace. Verse 7 even says:

‘Alas! for that day is great,
There is none like it;
And it is the time of Jacob’s distress,
But he will be saved from it.

Today, God has revealed that through a time of suffering and trials, God renews a thirst and desire for Him and then restores His people. Verse 15 says:

“‘Why do you cry out over your injury?
 Your pain is incurable.
 Because your iniquity is great And your sins are numerous,
 I have done these things to you.”

And then that refreshing promise in verse 17:

“‘For I will restore you to health

And I will heal you of your wounds,’
declares the Lord,

‘Because they have called you an outcast, saying:

“It is Zion; no one cares for her.”’

Father God, thank You for your grace. My suffering could have been so much worse than it has been. Thank you for renewing that thirst and longing for you. Thank you for reminding me of what great sin I am capable of, for tearing down my pride to remind me there is no good in me, apart from You. Amen

This new hymn has been in my mind for over a week, and now, it makes more sense to me. It is about feasting in the House of Zion and restoration.

We Will Feast In The House of Zion

We will feast in the house of Zion
We will sing with our hearts restored
He has done great things, we will say together
We will feast and weep no more

We will not be burned by the fire
He is the LORD our God
We are not consumed, by the flood
Upheld, protected, gathered up (Chorus)

In the dark of night, before the dawn
My soul, be not afraid
For the promised morning, oh how long?
Oh God of Jacob, be my strength (Chorus)

Every vow we’ve broken and betrayed
You are the Faithful one
And from the garden to the grave
Bind us together, bring shalom.

http://sandramccracken.bandcamp.com/track/we-will-feast-in-the-house-of-zion

This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Submission, Desiring God, Godly Obedience, Hymns, Women's Ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

