Super Quick, Frugal Meal: Chili Pie

This is one of the simplest meals I have found lately and it is quite frugal.

I found the original recipe (Chili Tacos) on Better Budgeting.  I joined this site a few years ago and there is so much helpful information!  The link to the recipe index is found here.

I adapted the recipe, and my version is not quite a frugal, but my family likes meat!  I call my version “Corn Chip Chili Pie.”  This has become one of the family’s favorite meals!

CORN CHIP CHILI PIE (cost is based on Aldi)
1 lb. ground beef, browned ($2.89 lb)
4 cans chili beans (59c each= $2.36)
2 bags corn chips (99c each= 1.98)
1 cup shredded cheddar ($1.79)
chopped onion (25c)

Add chili beans to browned beef. Cook on medium high until boiling.
Put 1 cup corn chips on a plate or in a bowl, top with bean and beef mixture. Sprinkle with cheese and chopped onion.
Sour cream and shredded lettuce is also an option. Add hot sauce if you like it a little hotter.

This total meal to feed my family of five is $9.27!!

This entry was posted in dinner, Frugal Recipes, large family Meals, Quick Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

