Grilling Pizza

I have always wanted to try my hand at grilling pizza, but just haven’t taken the chance.  When I read an article on Money Saving Mom about Grilling Pizza, I thought I would try and conquer it!  Click here to see the original post from Crystal Paine.

It is not a common thing for me to try a new recipe or new technique when company is coming, but the weather was nice and I just had to!!  I had 6 pizza crusts in the freezer, also Crystal’s recipe found here.  You will notice that the freezer recipe and the recipe for the grilled pizza differ slightly.

We had another family of 5 coming over for dinner.  That is a total of 5 teenagers, one under 10, and four adults, so I figured I would need a LOT of pizza.  I took out the 6 to thaw and made a batch of the dough from the grilled pizza post.  I had 10 crusts when I finished.

This is a photo journal of my process.  I followed the directions pretty close.  Some of them turned out perfectly and others, not so perfectly!!  This is it, the good, the bad, and the ugly!!

The first two doughs I rolled out looked more like amoeba than pizzas.  The third one was nice and round.

grill1

 

While the dough was rising, I heated the grill to high and then reduced it to medium high heat.  It stayed between 350-400 degrees.

grill2

I allowed the crusts to rise on lightly floured parchment paper.  When I got ready to put it on the grill, I folded it in half with the crust on top.  I put one side down on the grill and flipped the other over, removing the paper.

grill3

Almost immediately, I could begin to see the hot grates through the crust. I closed the lid and let it cook for about 3-5 minutes.

grill5

When I opened the lid, this is what I had, and the smell was amazing! I let it cook just a minute longer.

grill4

I took it out and flipped it over and this is what I had!  It was perfect!

I repeated the process for all 10 crusts.  I figured out about half way through the cooking, that I can cook two at a time.

I topped the grilled side and put them back on the grill for about 5 minutes.  The fresh crusts had a thicker rise than the ones that had been in the freezer.  I think I had my grill too hot for this part of the cooking.  On the thick ones, they cooked the bottom too quickly and the cheese didn’t finish melting.  I put them under the broiler in the kitchen oven for a few minutes to finish the melting.

This is the outcome:

grill7 grill6

We quite a variety of choices. I made:

2 cheese, 2 pepperoni, 1 meat lovers, 1 supreme, 1 Hawaiian, 1 Ranch, 1 Beef, and 1 Beef and bacon

The family and guests really liked the way they turned out.
The next time I do this, and I will be doing it again, I will have to remember to roll the dough thinner, as those turned out just right, straight from the grill.

Let me know if you try it, or have any other tips for grilling pizza!!

 

This entry was posted in Cooking tips, dinner, large family Meals, Pizza, Summer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

