Hymn Study- I Will Sing Of My Redeemer

Philip Paul Bliss

This is Philip Bliss. I found this photo (posted anonymously) on findagrave.com. Philip Bliss died at the age of thirty-eight (1876), in a train wreck in Ohio. He actually survived the wreckage by climbing out of a window, but returning to the flame-engulfed train to save his wife from the flames. About 90 people perished that day, in a fire that was so

devastating, none of the bodies were recovered. Some believe it to be a miracle of our Sovereign God that Mr. Bliss’s personal belongings were recovered, and among them, was his latest writing.

Mr. Bliss was well known during his time as a singer and music teacher, but more importantly, his decision to give up that fruitful life to become a musical evangelist,

through the prompting of D.L. Moody. Bliss wrote songs that “spoke the fundamental Truths of the Gospel,” as a colleague once said. 

Some of his most celebrated hymns are: “Hold the Fort!” (1870), “Jesus Loves Even Me” (1870), “Almost Persuaded” (1871), “Let the Lower Lights Be Burning” (1871), “Pull for the Shore” (1873), “Wonderful Words of Life” (1874), “Halleujah, What a Savior” (1875), and the music to Horatio G. Spafford’s

lyrics “It Is Well with My Soul” (1876).

What was found on the manuscript recovered from the wreckage? The words to the song God blessed me with when I woke up this morning (most days, I wake up with a song in my head):

I Will Sing Of My Redeemer

I will sing of my Redeemer; And His wondrous love to me;
On the cruel cross He suffered, From the curse to set me free.

I will tell the wondrous story, How my lost estate to save,
In His boundless love and mercy, He the ransom freely gave.

I will praise my dear Redeemer, His triumphant power I’ll tell,
How the victory He giveth; Over sin and death and hell.

I will sing of my Redeemer; And His heav’nly love to me;
He from death

to life hath brought me, Son of God with Him to be.

Chorus:
Sing, O sing of my Redeemer, With His blood He purchased me;
On the cross He sealed my pardon, Paid the debt and made me free.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hymn Study- I Will Sing Of My Redeemer

  1. Heather says:

    Enjoying the hymn study… Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

