Crockpot/Simple Menu- Cheesy Bacon Chicken

I have not posted for a few days, because I have cooked repeat meals I have already shared. I do have a new one to share today, that can be prepared in two different ways and both are equally yummy.

In searching for quick menu items, I came across one that looked so scrumptious!! Cheesy Bacon Chicken… cheese…bacon…. and chicken…what’s NOT to love??? The recipe I found was to brown the chicken breasts on the stove, along with onions and peppers, put it all together, and bake it in the oven until the cheese is melted. That was simple enough and it made my mouth water!! For a day I have the time, I am absolutely going to try this recipe! If you want to try this great looking recipe, you can find it at the “Gluten Free in Utah” blog.

I wanted to be able to make this recipe in a slowcooker.  I knew it wouldn’t have that baked in taste, but I had to give it a try.  This is the recipe I came up with, inspired by the above recipe:

cheesy bacon chicken

CHEESY BACON SLOW-COOKER CHICKEN with FLAVORED RICE
Ingredients:
Boneless skinless chicken breasts or thighs per person
1 can cream of chicken soup
1/2 cup milk
1 bag real Bacon bits
1 bag grated Cheese (of your choice, I will use Colby/jack mix)
1 small onion, sliced
½ bell pepper, sliced
salt/pepper to taste
Directions:
1. Place all ingredients, except cheese, in crockpot.
2. Cook on high 4 hours or low 6-8 hours.
3. Remove 2-3 cups of liquid for flavored rice.
4. Just before serving, top with grated cheese, put the top on, and allow cheese to melt. This takes 5-10 minutes.
Serve over flavored rice.

I noticed this had A LOT of liquid in it. I used the extra liquid and came up with this great tasting FLAVORED RICE:
Use 2 cups liquid from chicken dish (this will have bacon, onions, soup, and all of that yummy good flavor). (This will make 2 cups of rice. If you want 3 cups of rice, use 3 cups of liquid and 1 1/2 cups rice.)
Place in a 2 qt sauce pan and bring to a boil. Put in 1 cup rice (or 1 1/2 cups). Allow to cook, as you would regular rice. You may need to taste and season as desired.

This entry was posted in chicken, dinner, Meal preparation, menu, Slow cooker recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crockpot/Simple Menu- Cheesy Bacon Chicken

  1. acuriousgal says:

    My kids will love this….thanks!!

Leave a Reply

