Crockpot Chicken Enchilada Casserole

I missed something on this one!  I followed the directions, but I didn’t post the sizes of the cans when I made my shopping list.  I should have used a small can of enchilada sauce and not a large can, but I added my touch and got it a little thicker.

I found this recipe on Betty Crocker’s Website.  I am sure Betty’s way would have been much better, but I like to be honest about my cooking, and sometimes it is a hit and sometimes, it’s a miss!!

This is what mine looked like going into the pot.

enchilada1This is with a LARGE can of enchilada sauce.  We also prefer pinto beans to black beans, so I changed that.

After four hours of cooking, I had an enchilada soup!  I had planned on making Spanish Rice, so I decided to cook my rice on the stove top and add it to the casserole, to thicken it a bit.  (I simply saute’ed 1 1/2 cups white rice in 2 TBSP of canola oil until golden brown.  Today, I added a can of tomatoes with green chilies and 3 cups of chicken broth. I allowed it to cook until the rice was done.) I added the rice and tasted the casserole.  It tasted pretty bland.  I remembered I had a pack of enchilada mix, so I added that, along with a bit of salt.  This is what I got:

enchilada 2

I put the extra cheese on top, covered the pot, and allowed the cheese to melt.

enchilada3

Now, it is time to serve my “mistake,” and I decided that since it wasn’t a “fine dining experience” it could be served on my everyday styrofoam china!! 🙂

enchilada 4

Well, for the family’s responses:

Me: I liked it. It was a good, hearty meal.

Mister: “I like it, the flavor is good!” (He had two servings.) “I can taste the corn from the tortillas.  It’s good.”

Sweet Pea: gave a thumbs up

Sportsman: “It was ok.  I would eat it again.”

Music Man: “This is good!” (He also had two servings.)

I will make this again, and I will follow the correct sizes, the next time, but if I happen to forget, I know it can be turned into a good meal.  This mistake ended up making 7 quarts and everyone will eat the left overs with no problems.

This entry was posted in chicken, dinner, Frugal Recipes, large family Meals, Meal preparation, menu, mexican recipes, Slow cooker recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

