Simple Menu- Day 9

Today, was going to be a busy day, so I decided I would have the beef pot pies, which I found on sale, for 69 cents.  With three teenagers, two pies doesn’t always fill them up, so I decided I would do a side dish I have never made for them, but used to make often.  I also made homemade rolls, and fresh banana bread.  Because the pot pies are bought, I decided to share my quick and easy breakfast, the bread and the Indian Corn Casserole that I served as the side.

Today’s Menu:
Breakfast: Ham Skillet (Music Man’s favorite breakfast, and mine!)
Dinner: Beef Pot Pies, Indian Corn Casserole, Rolls, and Homemade Banana Bread

Ham Skillet
1 bag frozen ham skillet
2 medium potatoes, cubed
2 TBSP oil
8 oz. extra lean diced ham
6 eggs, beaten
2 cups shredded colby/jack cheese

To begin, cook potatoes in oil until almost done. Add the contents of frozen ham skillet.
Place top on the pan and allow to cook until all potatoes are done. Add ham and heat. Pour in eggs and cook until eggs are set. Top with shredded cheese. Cover, turn heat to low (or off) and allow cheese to melt. I cut this into triangles and serve with a fruit salad. (I personally like ketchup on mine!) This is a healthy breakfast with lots of protein and is quite filling.

This recipe comes from one of the cookbook collections I inherited from my grandmother. This was a set that we used together many times. It was published in 1966 from Favorite Recipes Press. This recipe was shared by Mrs. Gayelord Herring of Dexter, Iowa.

Indian Corn

Forgive the picture.  This is a close-up because it looked so pretty with the bacon, cheese, and corn.  But after I posted it, I am not sure it looks quite as pretty or yummy. 😦

Indian Corn Casserole
3 eggs, well beaten
1/4 cup flour
2 tbsp. sugar
2 cups grated sharp cheese
2 cans whole kernel corn, drained
10 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled (My quick tip, use a bag of real bacon bits!)

Combine eggs, flour and sugar; beat well. Add grated cheese and corn, stir in 3/4 of the bacon. Pour into an ungreased 10×6 or small baking dish. Sprinkle remaining bacon over top. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until knife inserted into center comes out clean. Makes 8 servings.

banana bread

This bread is so moist.  This is the recipe one of my grandmothers used.

Banana Bread

1 3/4 cups all-prpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup sugar
1 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 cup vegetable oil
3 very ripe bananas, mashed

Combine first five, dry ingredients in a large bowl; make a well in the center of the mixture. combine remaining ingredients and add to the dry mixture. Stir until moistened.
Pour batter into a greased 9x5x3 loaf pan. (I line mine with parchment.)Bake on 350 until for about 45 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan 10 minutes.

This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast, dessert, dinner, Family Memories, family recipes, Frugal Recipes, Good Old Days, large family Meals, Meal preparation, menu, old recipe, Old-fashioned, Quick Recipes, southern recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

