Simple Menu- Day 8/ True Test- Lori’s Shepherd Pie Goes to NLC Fellowship

Today, the recipes I used are from past posts, so I will be sharing those links.  Our church fellowship was today, and I was determined to stick with my inexpensive, convenient menu.  I figured this was the time to test some of the recipes on other people.  I have been to church fellowships forever, and I have learned to read people’s faces when they taste a dish.  I also know that in this group, we are not a group of people that hand out false compliments.  I figure if no one compliments, but it is an empty dish, that is a good sign.  But when I get compliments and a quickly emptied dish, that is even better!!

Today’s menu:
Breakfast: Yummy Easy Semi-Homemade Cinnamon Rolls
Sunday Lunch: Lori’s Quick and Easy Shepherd Pie

I am also sharing a brownie recipe with you today.  I am posting this in a separate blog, so it can be indexed.  I have been making this recipe, which I have adapted from the old Betty Crocker cookbook, since 1989.  Over the years, I have changed it a bit, to suit our taste, so the recipe isn’t exact to Betty, any longer….

Cocoa Brownies (This is a Double Batch)
2 cups sugar
1 cup butter, softened
1 TBSP Pure Vanilla
4 eggs
1 1/3 cup self-rising flour (or 1 1/3 cup AP flour,1/2 tsp baking pwdr, 1/2 tsp salt)
3/4 cup cocoa
1 cup nuts of your choice (optional)
Heat oven to 350 degrees. Mix together sugar, butter, vanilla, and eggs. Stir in flour and cocoa (and nuts, if using.) Spread in a greased 13×9 pan.

Bake until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool.
Lori’s Note: I bake these until they are done around the edge and done, but still a bit gooey in the center. That way, everybody in our family gets exactly what they like!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, chocolate, dessert, dinner, family recipes, Frugal Recipes, large family Meals, Meal preparation, old recipe, Quick Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

