Simple Menu- Day 7

Today, I am sharing an original recipe I put together because I so much enjoyed an appetizer dip from the Pampered Chef. Using that as my inspiration, I came up with this Pizza Casserole. I had forgotten about this recipe, because the last time I made it, was over 5 years ago. I was looking through some old photos of gathered friends, at my house, and remembered serving the casserole for them. This was the first time I had made it for my “new” family. THEY LOVED IT!!

Today’s Menu:
Breakfast: Hungry Jack Honey Grands Jr./ Williams Precooked Sausage Patties/Cheese
Dinner: Lori’s Creamy Pizza Casserole/ Quick Italian Biscuits

pizza casserole

Lori’s Creamy Pizza Casserole

1 8 oz. package cream cheese softened
1 can Cream of mushroom soup
2 TBSP dried Italian seasoning
3 cups mozzarella cheese shredded
1 cup parmesan cheese
2- 8 oz. can pizza sauce or one 16 oz jar of spaghetti sauce
1/4 c. green pepper chopped
¼ c. green onions sliced

, or regular onion chopped
Any meats you like on your pizza. Some of the ones I use: pepperoni, diced ham, bacon, ground chuck (browned and crumbled), italian sausage (browned and crumbled)
4 cups cooked pasta of your choice (I like spirals, penne, or bowties)
A sprinkle of red pepper flakes over the sauce (opt.)
Any other toppings you like on your pizza can be added: mushrooms, black olives, etc.

Preheat oven to 350° F. Combine cream cheese, soup, and Italian seasonings, mix well. Add into pasta, coating the pasta and put into a large sprayed casserole dish (I like to use a lasagna pan). 

In a small bowl, combine mozzarella and parmesan. Sprinkle 1/2 on top of the pasta mixture. Place meat choices over cheese. Spread pizza sauce over the meat mixture. Top with bell pepper, onions, and any other toppings. Top with remaining cheese. Bake in the oven until it is bubbly. I place it under the broiler for a few minutes to allow the cheese to turn golden brown.

NOTE** The fat can be reduced in this recipe without changing the flavor.  I use Neufchatel (lower fat) cream cheese, reduced fat/reduced sodium Fit N’ Active Cream soup, mozzarella is already one of the healthiest cheeses, and a good healthy sauce.  Hunts makes a great naturally low fat spaghetti sauce that is chunky vegetable (with zucchini, tomatoes, onions, peppers, and more).  I do add a bit more seasonings. My family usually  can’t tell the difference when I get those veggies in this way!!

Italian biscuits

Quick Italian Biscuits
2 cans of small biscuits (I use the little ones that come 4 cans to a pack.)
Olive oil spray
Dry Italian Seasoning
Parmesan Cheese
Garlic Powder (I have a child allergic to garlic, so I sub onion powder)

If you want a cheesy filling, you will need mozzarella cheese.

Simply put the biscuits on a sprayed cookie sheet. Spray the tops with olive oil, sprinkle on spices and parmesan, and cook for about 10 minutes or until the biscuits are golden.
When I have time, I push in the center of the biscuit a bit and add about a teaspoon of grated mozzarella, fold the biscuit around the cheese. This forms a little “ball.” Place on sprayed cookie sheet, spray tops with olive oil and sprinkle on seasonings and parm. These are so simple and my family really enjoys them. They also like biting into it and finding I have taken the time to add the cheese, and sometimes, a bit of pepperoni!!!

I wanted to share the original dip that inspired this recipe, just because it is amazing!! I searched the Pampered Chef site to give a direct link, but it is no longer included on their page. I had an old paper back cookbook, that they used to sell for a dollar or two (I have quite the little collection!), and found the recipe.

Pampered Chef Pizza Dip
1 8 oz. package cream cheese softened
1 teaspoon dried Italian seasoning
1 cup mozzarella cheese shredded
3/4 cup parmesan cheese
1
8 oz. can pizza sauce
2 tablespoons green pepper chopped
2 tablespoons green onions sliced

Preheat oven to 350° F. Combine cream cheese and Italian seasonings , spread onto a 8″ mini-baker.

In a small bowl, combine mozzarella and parmesan. Sprinkle 1/2 on top of the cream cheese. Spread pizza sauce over the cheese mixture. Sprinkle with remaining cheese. Top with bell pepper and green onions.
Bake for 15-18 minutes. Serve with French bread or bread sticks.

This entry was posted in dinner, family recipes, Frugal Recipes, large family Meals, Meal preparation, menu, Quick Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

