Super Simple Menu Plan- Day 4

Because I am a bit focus-challenged, and I like accomplishing things, I am loving the idea of having my menu planned out.  Each day has been successful and I am getting in the habit of starting my dinners early, to have them done for our early meal time each evening.

Today’s menu:
Breakfast: Pancakes/strawberries/whipped cream
Dinner: Crockpot Chicken/Rice

For breakfast, I simply used pancake mix to make my pancakes. I thawed frozen strawberries and added about 1/2 cup of sugar to make a syrup with the juice. Those of us who chose to, put strawberries with the sweet syrup on our pancakes and I topped it off with a pretty squirt of whipped topping!!

Crockpot Chicken/Rice
This should make 6 hearty servings.

2 c. long grain rice
4 c. chicken broth
2 can cream of chicken soup (I chose Fit N Active low-fat, low-sodium for all cream soups.)
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1 16 oz bag broccoli
6 large boneless skinless chicken breasts or thighs, frozen (I use a mixture of both)
1 t onion powder
1 TBSP Minced onion
1 c. grated cheddar cheese (I use a colby/jack blend or a low-fat cheese)
Salt/pepper to taste

For the freeze ahead meal: Combine all ingredients in afreezer bag. Don’t forget to label before freezing. On cooking day, cook on high 3-4 hours. Once cooked, chicken should shred.

If you choose to make this right in the crockpot without freezing, place ingredients in order or recipe. Cook on high 3-4 hours, or until chicken shreds easily.

chickenriceThis has been in the crockpot for about one hour!

chickenrice1

This is after two hours.  The rice is already done and two hours to go. Next time, I will add the rice half way through the cooking process.

chickenrice2

This is the completed meal, along with sweet dinner rolls, served on my finest styrofoam china!!

This is the sweet dinner roll recipe I use often:  LINK IS HERE!! 

This entry was posted in Breakfast, chicken, Cooking tips, dinner, Frugal Recipes, Healthy Recipes, large family Meals, Meal preparation, menu, Quick Recipes, Slow cooker recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

