Super Simple Menu Plan- Day 2

Breakfast- Slow cooker Breakfast Apple Crisp/Sausage
Dinner- Red Beans/Rice with Smoked Sausage

I am catching up on the last two day’s meal, plus today’s.  I apologize for not having photos for Day 2 or Day 3 meals. I will take pictures the next time I make these. I am sure I will be doing these again!

I have three recipes for you today. I had intended on making the “Slow cooker” beans and rice and realized I had bought ingredients for my usual recipe, out of habit.

First, I want to share this awesome breakfast dish.
Slow Cooker Breakfast Apple Crisp
Ingredients
6 cups apples, chopped
1 cup of oats (rolled or quick. If you choose to use quick, this will be crispy on the top and depending on the type of flour used, it could be cake-like under the crisp.)
1 1/2 cups flour (I pulled out self-rising, without paying much attention. I had an almost “cake-like” consistency under the crisp)
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup regular sugar
1 TBSP cinnamon
3/4 cup butter
Pecans (optional)
Instructions:

Spray Crock-Pot with nonstick spray or use a crockpot bag. Put apples on the bottom of your crock. In a separate bowl, melt butter and mix with all remaining ingredients. Pour mixture over apples. Cook on high for 3 hours or low for 4-6 hours. Enjoy

I loved this recipe. It was quite sweet, but with the sausage and coffee, it was great. I didn’t peel the apples and my 11 yr. old pulled the peels out. My one child with some sensory issues, didn’t like the inconsistency of the dish. He would prefer it to all feel like oatmeal or all to be crispy. The two together caused confusion in his mouth. He did like the taste. I think I will use rolled or steel-cut oats and all purpose flour, next time.

Slow-Cooker Beans and Rice

1 pound dried red kidney beans
7 cups of water
1/2 green pepper chopped
1 medium onion chopped
1/2 cup celery, chopped
1 TBSP onion powder
1 pound smoked sausage (or kielbasa)
3T. Creole seasoning
1/8 cup liquid smoke
1 TBSP Tabasco sauce
2 TBSP Worcestershire Sauce
Cooked Rice

Directions:
Chop veggies and sausage. Put first 8 ingredients in slow cooker and cook on low for 7-8 hours or on high for 5-6. Cook rice about an hour before serving time and serve the beans over the rice. This will be soupy.

Freezer to Slow Cooker Directions:
Chop veggies & Sausage.
Place everything but kidney beans, water and cooked rice into a gallon size freezer bag. Label & Freeze.
On cooking day, remove from freezer night before (or throw it in frozen that morning). Add kidney beans and water and cook as directed.
Cook rice about an hour before serving time and serve the beans over the rice (or mix it up like I did).

Lori’s Quick “On the Stove” Beans and Rice
2 boxes of Beans/Rice Mix (Like Zataran’s)
1 cup rice
1 can red beans
8 cups water or beef broth
1 TBSP onion powder
2 TBSP Butter
1 pound smoked sausage (or kielbasa) (browned)
3T. Creole seasoning
1/8 cup liquid smoke
1 TBSP Tabasco sauce
2 TBSP Worcestershire Sauce

In a dutch oven, put all ingredients. Allow to come to a boil. Boil for about 10 minutes, stirring frequently. Reduce to simmer, cover, and allow to simmer for about 10 more minutes, or until rice is tender. This will be spicy and thick. It can be eaten with a fork.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, dinner, Frugal Recipes, large family Meals, Meal preparation, menu, Slow cooker recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

