Super Simple Menu- Day 1 Crockpot Chicken Fajita

Today is the first day for my new menu.  I am using crockpot or very simple meals.  Today’s menu is:

Breakfast: Semi-homemade Cinnamon Rolls.
Lunch: Crockpot Chicken Fajitas
Dinner: Left overs and “make do”

This is the amount I used for my family of 5. I have three older children who are BIG eaters.
For this recipe you will need:
2 lbs. boneless skinless chicken (I used half thighs and half breasts)
2 onions
1-2 bell peppers (depending on how much you like.)
1/2 bag real bacon bits
1/2 cup broth
2 packs fajita seasoning
One tomato chopped (optional)

I prepared the meal the night before and left in the refrigerator overnight.
UPDATE: When I dumped this in the crockpot this morning, I decided I should put veggies in my bag first and meat in last. That way, when it is put in the crock, the meat will be on bottom!

photo-89Place chicken in a freezer bag.

fajitas

Next, slice onions and peppers.

photo-90

Layer all ingredients in the bag and seal. Freeze until you are ready to use, or refrigerate until the next day.

fajita1

Put the mixture in your crockpot.  Cook on high 4-6 hours or until the chicken shreds easily.

fajitas2

Serve with mexican rice, beans, and toppings you desire.

fajita3

Thoughts:  This meal was well received by my family.  I have about one serving left, which will be claimed by a child, for lunch tomorrow!

I came home and made the rice and beans.  The rice takes about 30 minutes.  Fajitas, on the stove, takes about 30-45 minutes. I will be thinking ahead to side dishes in the future.   I have a variety of crockpots.  I have a 2 quart, which is perfect for rice, so I will be using that when doing this dish the next time.  I also have one of the old 4 quart, a 5 quart, and a 7 quart.  I think I will also experiment with the beans in a pot.  I used canned beans to be quicker.  I think I can use those seasoned and on low in one of the smaller crockpots, and cut the extra time to make side dishes.  All in all, this was a good experience, and I will definitely be using this recipe again.

Tomorrow’s menu:
Breakfast:Crockpot Apple Breakfast Cobbler/sausage links or ham
Dinner: Crockpot Red Beans and Rice

This entry was posted in chicken, dinner, family recipes, Frugal Recipes, large family Meals, Meal preparation, mexican recipes, Quick Recipes, Slow cooker recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

