Rich and Creamy Ham and Potato Soup

ham soup

So many of my best dishes start out as accidents!  This soup was exactly that.  I hate to throw out food.  Last night, I was going to throw together some instant mashed potatoes to go with the BBQ for a quick side, and as I was pouring the flakes in the liquid, I realized I didn’t have enough potatoes to make them thick.  I had about 2/3 of what I needed and no matter how long I  let them simmer, the did not thicken.  So, I decided to make a quick potato soup for tonight.  I put the potatoes in the fridge over night.  After our football game this morning, I came home and put them in a small dutch oven.

Ingredients:
Instant mashed potatoes (made thin, using recipe for 8 servings and about 2/3 of the amount of flakes called for on the box.)
1 potato diced(if you have it. If not, that is ok, too.)
1 cup milk or milk/cream mixed
1/4 cup of water with 2 chicken bullion cubes dissolved in water.)
1 can cream of chicken soup
2 tablespoons butter
onion powder, minced onion, couple dashes of cayenne
1 cup diced ham
1/2 bag real bacon bits (or 1/4 cup crumbled bacon)
1/4 cup chopped celery (tops included)
8 oz. velveeta-like cheese, cubed.

Put everything in the pan, except cheese. Cook over medium heat until it begins to boil. Stir well. Cover and simmer for 30 minutes. Add cubed cheese. Allow cheese to melt and remove from heat. Serve warm.

NOTE: We were not ready to eat when the soup was finished and have had this warmed in the microwave today, with no ill effects. This was so rich and yummy!
ham soup

The sliced bread is the oat bread recipe I shared yesterday.  This is just in the form of a loaf.  Can you see how moist this bread is, even the next day??

This entry was posted in Frugal Recipes, Quick Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rich and Creamy Ham and Potato Soup

  1. Rebecca says:

    Another awesome recipe! I have never had this kind of soup before, I can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

