Yummy Easy Semi-Homemade Cinnamon Rolls!!

Our Sunday breakfast has taken on a new tradition, cinnamon rolls.   I make homemade bread quite often, but I don’t always want to make yeast dough to have cinnamon rolls every Sunday morning.  I cheated one payday and bought “canned cinnamon rolls” and my family really liked them.  My thought was, “Why am I making dough when they like these just as well?” The “good mom” in me relates it to health.  I KNOW the ingredients that go into my bread.  I KNOW they are getting whole grain, real butter, real cane sugar, and fresh cinnamon when I make the dough, and yes, health is important to me, but I do enjoy having to take less time on Sunday mornings to prepare breakfast.

On a recent Sunday morning, I realized I had not bought enough cinnamon rolls to have them for breakfast, and I had not made my dough the night before, so what to do?

Years ago, I did appetizers for brunches, teas, and showers.  One of the favorites for my patrons was my “cinnamon swirls”, which were simply miniature cinnamon rolls made with crescents.  After looking, I realized I had two extra tubes of crescents.  It was time to try out the old standby in a larger form, and see how well my family liked it!

Mr. came in just as I was taking out the crescents and I told him I had not bought enough cinnamon rolls for breakfast.  He asked what we were going to have and I told him “cinnamon rolls”.  He wanted to know if I had everything I needed.  I told him that we had butter, cinnamon, and sugar and with the crescents, that was all I needed.  He just smiled and gave me one of the best compliments!  He said, “I forget you know how to make all this stuff from scratch!”  I love my Mr.!!!

This recipe makes 16 regular size cinnamon rolls. For these super easy cinnamon rolls, you only need:

2 cans crescent rolls
1/2 stick of butter, melted
cinnamon/sugar mixed together (I use 2 parts sugar to one part cinnamon)
Icing (recipe follows)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Roll out crescent rolls, pressing seams together.  Brush with melted butter.
Sprinkle on cinnamon sugar.  Roll short end.  Slice into 8 rolls.

Quick tip: to cut cinnamon rolls and other rolls neatly and smoothly without “squishing”, use a piece of floss or thread.  Wrap it around the roll, cross the ends, and pull!  It works every time!!

DSCN8088

Place on a baking sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes or until golden.

DSCN8089

Spread icing on top.

To make icing:  melt 1/2 stick of butter, add in 1 TBSP milk or cream, put in 1-1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar.  (If you like your icing thicker, add more powdered sugar.  If you like your icing thinner, add more milk, 1 teaspoon at a time.  It really does not take much liquid to make this really thin.)

 

Variation: Spread soft cream cheese in the dough before brushing on the melted butter.

Another favorite: If you would prefer a savory roll, you can use meats and cheeses rather than cinnamon and sugar.  I simply brush on melted butter or cream cheese (or both), sprinkle in any combination of toppings:

crumbled bacon/shredded cheddar
chopped ham/swiss
crumbled sausage/cheese
Or loaded with all of the above!!

I also like to do “pizza rolls” by putting sauce, cheese, and any toppings we like.  Roll ’em up, and bake ’em!!  When they are done, sprinkle the top with parm or garlic butter!!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Cooking tips, dessert, family recipes, Frugal Recipes, Meal preparation, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yummy Easy Semi-Homemade Cinnamon Rolls!!

  1. Pingback: Super Simple Menu- Day 1 Crockpot Chicken Fajita | Lori's Own Little World

  2. Pingback: Simple Menu- Day 8/ True Test- Lori’s Shepherd Pie Goes to NLC Fellowship | Lori's Own Little World

  3. Pingback: Freezer Cooking… I think I can! | Lori's Own Little World

Leave a Reply

