Homemade Granola Trail Mix

We really enjoy homemade granola and trail mix as a snack.  Today, it was rainy and we were all in the mood for a little snack.  I am focusing a bit more on healthy eating and I decided to make granola.  The granola I usually make has coconut and some other ingredients I didn’t have today.  I decided to take what I did have: CEREAL!!  Lots of cereal!  I used the cereal, old-fashioned oats, and pretzels.  You can use any cereal.  I chose to use unsweetened cereals, except for chocolate oat rings.  I don’t like the “fruity” cereals in our trail mix, but some do. This is a matter of choice for you and your family.  Sweet Pea was helping me and kept picking out the cereal before we got the sauce made to go over the mixture.

For this particular batch I used: Corn Squares, Oat Rings, Chocolate Oat Rings, pretzels, and 2 cups of rolled oats, this was about 12 cups when I poured it all together. (I prefer a can of mixed nuts added into the mix, but having a child with nut allergies, and only wanting to make one batch, I opted to leave out the nuts.)

For the sauce you will need:
1 cup butter
2/3 cup honey
1/3 cup molasses
1/2 cup brown sugar

Heat in a saucepan over medium high heat.  Let the mixture come to a boil.  Now, again, the choice is yours.  You can choose to allow your mixture to boil to soft ball stage or hard ball stage.  I usually let it boil for about 5 minutes.

Pour cereal mixture onto two cookie sheets.  Pour sauce  mixture evenly over both pans.
DSCN7790DSCN7791

Stir the mixture. Place under broiler until mixture is lightly browned.  Stir and place back under the broiler until lightly brown again.  Remove from oven and allow to cool.
DSCN7793

After the mixture cools, you may add in dried fruits, like raisins or cranberries.  My family likes chocolate chips.  I added a very small amount (1/2 cup) to the mix.
DSCN7795

I store this in gallon size ice cream buckets.  I can’t tell you how long it will keep because it never lasts long enough to go bad!  I do limit the children to about 1/2 cup serving, as it is sweet.

I like to have this with a little yogurt for a snack or for breakfast.

This entry was posted in Frugal Recipes, Healthy Recipes, nutrition, Quick Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

