The Paprika Chicken Critique

My husband loves robust flavors in our meals.  We also like to try new dishes.  I did a search for a “zappy crock pot meal” and came across one on “Just a Pinch”  for Crockpot Paprika Chicken.  I love this website and am a member there.  I have found some really good recipes.  So, I thought I would give this a try.

Now, I must tell you, I followed the recipe exactly as written.  It was very simple and had LOTS of paprika.  The recipe called for:
12 pieces of chicken breast strips (not whole breast)
4 medium sized potatoes, sliced
4 medium onions, peeled and sliced
1 cup water
3 tablespoons oil
paprika
Salt/pepper

As suggested, I layered the chicken, sprinkled with paprika, layer potatoes, onions, oil (salt/pepper) until I had three layers. Then on top, give a generous sprinkle of paprika. Pour the water around the sides, as not to wash off the paprika. Cook in the slow cooker 4-6 hours or until the potatoes are done.

DSCN7578

This is what it looked like before cooking.

While this was cooking the flavor was amazing!  My kids even commented on how good it smelled.  I sent a message to my husband that said, “Dinner smells very… flavorful!”  I was afraid that I had gotten WAY too much paprika when the aroma was so very strong.  I used a very good quality smoked paprika. Had I ruined dinner by having so much paprika we couldn’t eat it?

This was done and the chicken falling apart after 4 hours.  It cooked up quite liquidy, more like a soup, which I wasn’t expecting.  I served this with a side of my country green beans.  Paprika was coated on the chicken.

The verdict:

Mr.: “This is surprisingly bland. The smell was so strong, I can’t believe how bland it is. The chicken did not even become flavored with all of the paprika.  This is NOT a do-over.”

Music man: “This is ok.  But there isn’t much flavor.  More salt and pepper helped.”

Sporty: “Everything tastes the same.  It is very bland.”

Sweet Pea: “These green beans are wonderful.  I finished them. Do I have to finish the chicken?” (NOTE: This was probably the most condemning statement of all for this recipe.  This girl LOVES chicken.  I think this is the first time she has EVER asked to NOT finish her chicken.)

Me: “Everything tasted like boiled onions. ” Two hours later: “Ugh, I am still tasting those onions!”

So there you have it, folks.  I promised I would give honest opinions on recipes I try, “the good, the bad, and the ugly.”  This one was: THE BAD!!

This entry was posted in chicken, Diabetic Recipe, dinner, recipe critique and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

