“Whew, I Sure Am Thirsty!”

I was just sitting here reflecting on a quote from F.F. Bruce.

“The soul’s deepest thirst is for God himself, who has made us, so that we could never be satisfied without Him.”

Many times, we want the God WE think up in our minds, a “thought” of God or a “doctrine” of God, a God who is only loving and is “with us in our hearts and minds.” I think this quote goes much deeper than a “thought” of God or any doctrine or belief. I think this is about experiencing God the Father, a real being, Who has literally created us, Who REALLY sent His Son to take on the burden of our sin, Who REALLY rose from the grave. A God who does love us, but Who also disciplines us. This is about an actual relationship with God. A relationship where both sides participate.

How much do we actually thirst for God? How much do we really want more than anything else, to experience GOD? More than the good book on the night stand, more than the next episode of a popular tv show or movie, more than the next video game coming out, more than the next great meal, more than time with our spouse, more than time with our children? GOD, how many times do we think during the day, “I can’t wait to see what God is going to do next, I can’t wait to get home and read God’s Word (alone and with my family), I can’t wait for discussion at dinner so we can see how God has been working in our lives today, I can’t wait to share with my friend how God has moved today.

Many people chat and post daily during a sports game or during a TV Show about what is going to happen next. Why are we not having this much enjoyment, fulfillment, and desire to post and converse openly about our Sovereign God and how He is guiding and directing and moving our lives, about how He has brought us from death in our sins to Life in Him, a life that has turned us from a desire to sin?

Pray, with me, that God gives us such a craving, a desire, a thirst and hunger for Him, that we can’t be satisfied without Him in every part of our lives!

Psalm 42:1-4
As the deer pants for the water brooks,
So my soul pants for You, O God.
 My soul thirsts for God, for the living God;
When shall I come and appear before God?

Psalm 63:1
O God, You are my God; I shall seek You [earnestly;
My soul thirsts for You, my flesh yearns for You,
In a dry and weary land where there is no water.

Amos 8:11
“Behold, days are coming,” declares the Lord God, “When I will send a famine on the land, Not a famine for bread or a thirst for water, But rather for hearing the words of the Lord.

Hebrews 11:6
But as it is, they desire a better country, that is, a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God ; for He has prepared a city for them.

This entry was posted in Bible, Desiring God, Ministry, Resurrection and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

