Homemade flour tortillas

As you may have read previously, in my posts, my hubby comes from a Mexican background.  I like to try Mexican/ Tex-Mex recipes for our family.  Today, I made homemade flour tortillas for the first time.  The hard part about this was choosing which recipe to use!  I found so many online and they were all similar.  Mr. was raised in San Antonio and he ordered a cookbook from one of the SanAntonio family restaurants, Los Barrios.  I decided to use their recipe for the tortillas.  This is their cookbook I am using.

DSCN7521

Every recipe I found is basically the same.  You will need flour, salt, baking powder, shortening or lard, and warm water.  That’s it.  Most combinations I found were pretty much the same proportion of ingredients.  I did find that you can use whole wheat flour to make whole wheat tortillas.  For today’s instructions, I just used regular all purpose flour.  Any search will give you the basic amounts.  I did not feel it was morally right to copy the Barrios’ recipe, as it was in a copyrighted book, but this basic recipe makes about 10 tortillas and has the same ingredients:

2 c. unsifted flour
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 c. warm water or more as needed
1 tsp. salt
1/4 c. shortening or lard

DSCN7523

First, Combine flour, salt, baking powder. Add shortening/lard and a little warm water stirring or mixing with hands until you get a soft dough.

DSCN7524

Divide into 8 -10 balls.

DSCN7525

Roll out on floured surface to 1/16-inch thick, about 6-7 inches diameter.

DSCN7526

This is what they look like after I roll.  I know the ones we buy in the store are all nice and round, and for the most part, uniform.  Well, mine look more like amoeba!

DSCN7528

On a hot grill or griddle, or pan, on medium-high, cook about 1 minute each side.   I used a non-stick skillet and did not add oil to the pan.

DSCN7531

I probably got some of them a little dark, but Mr. says he likes it that way, and giving him a pleasant experience is all I want to do with these tortillas.

Note: I used parchment paper on my surface to help with cleanup.  These had a very good taste.  I am making an authentic Mexican meal for dinner to go with these.  I will share my recipe for Picadillo Carne Molida con Papas.

This entry was posted in Bread, Cooking tips, family recipes, Frugal Recipes, large family Meals, mexican recipes, old recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade flour tortillas

  1. Pingback: Picadillo de Carne Molida con Papas | Lori's Own Little World

Leave a Reply

