Pinterest Recipe Critique and a Cheater Recipe

I LOVE Pinterest and I like trying the recipes and craft projects.  So far, most have worked, a few don’t.  Today, I want to share a bread recipe I tried.  I also have a “you gotta be able to do this to be a southern woman” recipe (with a cheat)!

This is the link for the pinterest bread: http://pinterest.com/pin/21603273184309479/

This came from LIttle House Living Blog.

Quick Pull-Apart Rolls Recipe
Time: 
30 minutes
Makes: 
24 rolls

What You Need:

  • 2 C plus 4Tbsp warm water
  • 2/3 C oil
  • 4 Tbsp yeast
  • 1/2C sugar
  • 3 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 C all purpose flour
  • 3 C wheat flour

Heat oven to 400 degrees. In a mixing bowl combine water, oil, yeast & sugar.  Allow it to rest for 15 minutes.  Mix in the salt, egg and flour.  Knead until well incorporated and dough is soft and smooth. (Just a few minutes) Form dough into 72 small balls and then, in greased muffin tins, squeeze 3 balls into each muffin space to make clover leaf rolls.  If you want regular rolls, make 24 balls and put into a greased pan. Allow to rest for 10 minutes.  Bake for 10 minutes at 400 degrees or until golden brown.

Now for pictures of the process and things I did differently.

Heat oven to 400 degrees. In a mixing bowl combine water, oil, yeast & sugar.  Allow it to rest for 15 minutes.

DSCN7502

This is what it looked like after 15 minutes.

Mix in the salt, egg and flour.

DSCN7503

After the ingredients are incorporated.

Knead until well incorporated and dough is soft and smooth. (Just a few minutes)

A few years ago I was told to use parchment paper to knead the bread dough. There is no mess, and your hands don’t get all sticky.  I have taken pictures of this, in case it is a new idea to some.  Remember bread and friends are a lot alike: They don’t need to be too needy (kneady)!!  Plop the dough out, onto a large sheet of parchment.

DSCN7504

Fold the other side over and mash it flat.

DSCN7505

Open the parchment and fold the dough in the center and press again,

DSCN7507

and then from the sides.

DSCN7508

Repeat this step four or five times.  This dough is larger than I like to work with, so I used a dough cutter and worked with 1/2 at a time.

DSCN7509

I used a small piece of parchment on top of the dough and press to a rectangular shape.  Using the dough cutter, cut into 12 equal pieces. Put the pieces in a greased pan.

DSCN7510

Allow to rest for 10 minutes.  Bake for 10 minutes at 400 degrees or until golden brown.

DSCN7517

I  rubbed butter on top and put it under the broiler for just a minute or so to brown the tops. I LOVE browned butter on my bread!

Now, to get to the good part, were they any good??  As you can see from the photo, they turned out beautifully.  They were soft.  Because of the wheat flour, they were hearty, but not heavy.  These were the comments of the family:

Me: I really like these!
Mr.: These are good and hearty.  Tasty, but I like the “other recipe” better.
Music Man: I liked them.  They are gooood!
Sporty: They were ok.
Sweet Pea: Two thumbs up!
Next, I wanted to cook pinto beans, and I just didn’t have time to get the dry beans out and soak them and cook them.  I LOVE the home cooked taste, so a few years ago I came up with this little trick.  They are lowfat, but they have that great slow cooked flavor.  I figured most people knew about this, but when I take these to a pot luck, I have requests for the recipe.  When I tell them how easy this is to prepare, they are shocked.

CHEATER, CHEATER PINTO BEANS

One bag of real bacon bits

2 large cans pinto beans

salt

THAT’S ALL FOLKS! I put the bacon bits in a nonstick pan on medium heat.  I let them cook for a few seconds to begin breaking down the bacon bits just a little.  I then pour the beans on top of them and salt to flavor.  I put the top on and let them cook.

DSCN7511

And cook.

DSCN7512

I remove the lid until the liquid reduces.

DSCN7513

NOTE: My hubby is 1/2 Mexican and I use this for refried beans, also.  I do add a teaspoon of bacon grease before starting the bacon bits.  For refried beans, I let the liquid cook out completely.  I also season with fresh chopped cilantro cooked in the last few minutes.

Let me know if you try this or have any other tips!!

This entry was posted in Bread, Cooking tips, dinner, family recipes, Frugal Recipes, large family Meals, southern recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

