Mamaw’s Sausage Balls

My grandmother made these as long as I can remember and they were always one of my favorite things!  Now, I make them for my brood and my kids love them, too!!

DSCN7490

Mamaw’s Sausage Balls

1 lb. Sausage (DO NOT BROWN THE SAUSAGE)
2 cups baking mix
2 cups shredded cheese (cheddar or American)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix the three ingredients together with your hands.  Form 1″ balls and place on a cookie sheet.  Bake for 15-20 minutes until they are golden brown.

I use a lean sausage.  If you have a fatty sausage, you may want to increase the baking mix.  This recipe makes 60 sausage balls.   Serve with fruit and you have a full meal!

NOTE: To reduce fat contents even more, use a fat free baking mix and lowfat cheese.  I have found that some of the lowfat cheddar does not melt easily.  I have used the “easy melt cheese that comes in a yellow rectangle box” once and it was NOT a my best idea!!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, family recipes, old recipe, Quick Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

