Honey Bun Cake

This morning, I wanted to do a coffee cake and remembered a Honey Bun Cake I used to make.  I found a recipe, and of course, I didn’t have all of the ingredients, so I made it with what I had and left the rest out!!  I followed the common directions on the box and realized I needed the batter just a little thinner, so I added about 1/4 c. of water.. and then, after we had breakfast, I glanced over the recipe I found and saw that the ingredient amounts were different, oh well…  It turned out to be so good,  the fam voted it a “do over”, so I thought I would share.

DSCN7484

Lori’s “didn’t follow directions” Honey Bun Cake

yellow cake mix (mine had pudding, but it doesn’t have to)

3 eggs (recipe calls for 4)

1/3 c. canola oil (recipe calls for 2/3)

1 1/4 cup water (recipe doesn’t call for water and adds sour cream.  I am thinking buttermilk would probably work, too, but the water did fine!)

brown sugar (I didn’t measure..just see my directions)

cinnamon (again, I didn’t measure)

Icing (see below)

**Recipe also calls for chopped pecans on top of the brown sugar/cinnamon, but because of “Sporty’s” nut allergy I leave them out.

Preheat oven 350 degrees. Spray a 9×13 cake pan or a bundt pan. I made the cake batter according to directions on the box with 3 eggs, 1/3 cup of oil, and 1 cup of water (and I added the 1/4 cup).  Pour half of the batter in the cake pan.  Sprinkle brown sugar over the cake batter. Sprinkle cinnamon over the brown sugar.  Top with remaining cake batter.  Bake in the oven until a knife comes out clean.  (Mine took about 25 minutes).

Top with icing:

1/3 cup butter, melted

1/8 cup milk (2 TBSP)

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Mix these ingredients.  This should be a semi-thin icing (reminds me of school glue).  If it is too thick, add a tsp of milk until it thins to the consistency you want.  If it is too thin, add a little more powdered sugar. Spread icing over cake.

I serve this with sausage links.

NOTE** By the way, these make really great “muffins” for on the road breakfast.  Just put a spoon of batter in a cup cake/muffin wrapper, then the sugar/cinnamon, another spoon of batter and top with icing.  I think for our next “road trip” I will whip these up, like little individual honey buns, and pack the sausages to eat on the road.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, dessert, family recipes, Frugal Recipes, large family Meals, Muffins, southern recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Honey Bun Cake

  1. Pingback: Super Simple Dinner- Day 5 | Lori's Own Little World

Leave a Reply

