Oatmeal cookies

One of my husband’s favorite desserts is a soft oatmeal cookie.  I have a tried and true, standby recipe that has become his very favorite.  Yesterday, while grilling for lunch, I decided to look in an antique cookbook that belonged to my grandmother and see if there would be an oatmeal cookie recipe there.  I found one and decided to try the recipe.  His response will be presented after the recipe!!

DSCN7370

Oatmeal Cookies

1/2 c. brown sugar, packed

1/2 c. white sugar

1/2 c. shortening

1 egg

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 tsp salt

1 TBSP milk

1 cup rolled oats

1 cup flour

1 cup pecans (optional)

Heat oven to 350.  Grease cookie sheet. (I always use parchment paper on my cookie sheet sprayed with olive oil.) Cream shortening and sugar and add egg, vanilla, milk, and salt.  Stir until smooth.  Sift flour, soda, and baking powder.  Add this to egg mixture, mixing until smooth.  Add oats (and nuts). Drop by teaspoon on greased cookie sheet and inch apart.  Bake 10 minutes or until light brown.  Makes 3 1/2 doz.

NOTE:  I used an ice cream scoop and made 8 large cookies.

My husband ate the cookies and said, “This isn’t the same recipe you usually make.  These are good, but I like the other one better!”  I got out the other recipe and compared.  There is very little difference in the two.  I do a cookie exchange at Christmas and LOVE making cookies.  I learned a few years ago that if you want a soft, chewy cookie, use more brown sugar. If you want a crispier cookie, use more white sugar.  Because my husband likes a soft chewy cookie, I alter the recipe to make the cookie have more brown sugar.   I would like to say, I found the original recipe at the wonderful site, Moms Who Think.       (http://www.momswhothink.com) My recipe follows:

Chewy Oatmeal Cookies

1 cup butter, softened

3/4 cup white sugar (original recipe calls for 1 cup white, 1 cup brown)

1 1/4 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

2 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

3 cup quick cooking oats

raisins, dried cranberries, chocolate chips, 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon and/or nuts (optional)

In a mixing bowl, cream together, white sugar, brown sugar, butter. Beat in eggs and stir in vanilla.  Mix in flour, cinnamon (if using), soda, and salt.  Mix in oats.  If you are using add-ins, mix in at this point.  (The original recipe calls for chilling the dough for at least one hour.  I don’t always get that done!) Preheat the oven to 375.  Grease cookie sheets, or line with greased parchment.  Place dough on parchment, depending on the size cookie you want.  I have a small cookie dough scoop and I have an ice cream scoop.  I use both, depending on the situation and our wants.  For small cookies, I bake for about 6-8 minutes in a preheated oven.  allow cookies to cool on the parchment.  This makes about 60 small cookies or 16-20 giant cookies.

NOTE: This is the recipe I use for my oatmeal cream pies!  I like to make the giant soft cookies. I sandwich the cream between two and wrap in cellophane.  These cream pies make great bake sale items.  The filling I use is: 2 teaspoons very hot water, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1 (7 ounce) jar marshmallow cream, 1/2 cup shortening, 1/3 cup powdered sugar,
1/2 teaspoon vanilla.  **Make sure your shortening is fresh. I made the mistake of using some that had been in the cabinet for a while… it was horrible!!  You can usually tell by the smell.

This entry was posted in cookies, dessert, old recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

