Ranch Pizza

I was making pizza for my family and I wanted something a little healthier, so I made a ranch pizza.  You can make any pizza crust you would like.  I had pizza kits, so I took a little dough from their crusts and rolled my own, about 5-6″ and thin.  I love a thin crust, but you make what you like.  I wanted to share what I have done, in case you want a quick alternative to the regular pizza.

DSCN7364

Ingredients:

Dough to make a 5-6″ crust

TBSP Ranch dressing (to lower fat, use fat free or low fat dressing)

Any veggies you might like (This picture has grape tomatoes sliced and onion, but I have also used broccoli, spinach, green peppers, and olives)

Any meats you would like (I have lean ham and about an ounce of extra lean beef on this one, and I often use REAL Bacon bits)

Mozzarella or italian cheese blend.

Roll dough and place in oven 350 degree oven for about 5 minutes or until bottom is done to your preference.  Spread Ranch dressing over crust.  Top with veggies, meats, and cheeses.  Place under broiler until cheese is melted.

NOTES:  For a quick, inexpensive crust, put a flour tortilla under the broiler just until golden brown and crisp.  Top as you would the regular crust.

For a “brunch” or snack veggie pizza, brown a crust or buy one already prepared, mix one 8 oz cream cheese and 1/2 cup ranch dressing.  Spread over dough.  (French onion dip is also good to use as the sauce) Top with fresh chopped or sliced veggies that you would normally dip in dressing (including carrots, fresh summer squash, celery, etc) Slice and serve.  Keep refrigerated.  This pizza is not cooked and makes a wonderful summer snack.

This entry was posted in Diabetic Recipe, dinner, Frugal Recipes, Healthy Recipes, Lunch, Quick Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

