Nonnie’s Chicken ‘n Dumplings

This is a recipe that is requested quite often.  This is one of my family’s favorites.   My grandmother (Nonnie) made these for every holiday family meal.  I had the honor of her teaching me how to make them.  I make them for our family get togethers now, but I make them for my own family about once a month.  This process does take a little time, and I have tried to use boneless skinless chicken breasts, add veggies, change seasonings, but it just does not taste the same and I like the nice, simple flavor, just the way she did it!!

Chicken ‘n Dumplings

1 3 lb bag chicken quarters (or a whole chicken or two)

2 gallons Water (this is a guess, I use a stock pot and add water as needed to keep a lot of broth)

Salt

Pepper

All Purpose flour (Approx. 6 cups, I just pour flour in my mixing bowl, so this is a guess.  When I make them again, I will update this!)

In a stock pot, Boil chicken until done (I add about 1 tablespoon of salt).  Remove chicken from broth, cool.  Skin and debone chicken. Chop and put back into the broth.  Let it come to a rolling boil.  While the broth is coming to a boil, I make the dumplings.  (Now this is the trick) Put flour in a heat proof bowl and pour about 3-4 cups of hot broth over the flour, stir quickly, forming a dough.  Put a small ball of dough on a rolling board (or chopping block) and cover with plastic wrap.  Roll dough to 1/8 – 1/4 inch thick.  Remove plastic, cut with a pizza cutter into 1″ strips about 3-4″ long.  Drop into boiling broth/chicken. Repeat until all of the dough has been rolled and added.  Add Salt/Pepper to taste. Allow to boil until dumplings are done.  Stir often to keep them from sticking.

Note:  There are times that my broth does not taste rich enough.  When this happens, I do add about 4 Chicken bullion to the pot.  I know these are not “formal” directions, but it is Chicken ‘n Dumplings, Old-fashioned and country, just the way they are supposed to be!!!

When I make dumplings again, I will take photos of the process and take more exact measurements.

This entry was posted in chicken, dinner, family recipes, Frugal Recipes, large family Meals, old recipe, Old-fashioned, southern recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nonnie’s Chicken ‘n Dumplings

  1. Pingback: Two Week Meal Plan | Lori's Own Little World

Leave a Reply

