Acts 23- Acts in 28 Days

I apologize for the commentary getting delayed.  I pray you are still reading through Acts.

Acts 23

Today, I want to look at some of the verses that stood out to me and made me think.

Verse 1, Paul looked straight at the Sanhedrin and said, “My brothers, I have fulfilled my duty to God in all good conscience to this day.” What is your duty to God?  Have you fulfilled that duty in good conscience?  I pray we can be aware of the call and duty God has put before us and we can fulfill that duty in good conscience.

Verse 3, Then Paul said to him, “God will strike you, you whitewashed wall! You sit there to judge me according to the law, yet you yourself violate the law by commanding that I be struck!” I had to stop and evaluate myself in this verse.  Is there a time I am a whitewashed wall?  Whitewashed walls look nice on the outside, but the whitewash often is a cover for mistakes.  How often are we whitewashed walls, judging others according to our own laws and violate them ourselves?  I pray we take heed to the conviction in our lives and grow in holiness, as we have been called.

I found that verse 11 could be good news or bad.  It says,  “The following night the Lord stood near Paul and said, ‘Take courage! As you have testified about me in Jerusalem, so you must also testify in Rome.’”

So Paul was promised he was going to survive this scenario.  That was good news, because he would live.  Paul, however, is also promised he will be testifying in Rome.  Paul has already been shown prison and bondage in each city.  I pray that when God brings news, we can be encouraged and know He will be with us, no matter the situation.

There was a plot to kill Paul and his nephew heard about the plot.  At Paul’s request, the nephew took the information to the commander, who had Paul safely transferred to Caesarea, along with a letter.  The letter explained what had taken place and Paul was kept in Herod’s palace.  God had a perfect plan in place.  I pray that we can trust God with His perfect plan and look past our own.

This entry was posted in Bible. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

