Mugs

I LOVE Pinterest!!  I am an avid crafter and I like to try all of the things I see on Pinterest. However, I am quite frugal and I will not go outside of our budget for crafts I want to try. I also do craft fairs and have an Esty shop.  Today, I want to share one of the projects that was quite inexpensive for me and I think they turn out great.  This is a picture of one of my mugs. (By the way, this one, and others, are for sale in my GloriWirques Etsy Shop at http://www.etsy.com/shop/GloriWirques )

hummingbird mug

For this project, you will need:

Plain white ceramic coffee mug

Permanent markers

Simply free-hand a picture and color it in, or write any text you would like on your mug with the permanent markers.  If you can’t draw, you can use a stencil.  Bake in the oven at 350 for about 30 minutes.  Turn of the oven and allow to cool before removing.

My Notes: * When I used Yellow permanent marker, it turned brown.  Other than that, everything looks great.

**If using a stencil, tape it down and make sure the ink is dry before removing, or it will smear.  If the ink smears, before firing, rubbing alcohol or hand sanitizer will safely and cleanly remove the permanent ink.  After the piece is fired in the oven, it will not come off.  I have not tried this in the dishwasher, I clean them by hand.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

