Obedience Training: A Must!!

This is a series I wrote a few years ago, before my husband and I got married.  It was some of the points God began showing me as I was starting a new journey and preparing for the Godly man He had planned for my life.  I hope this series helps someone who is looking for THAT man.  Remember, you do not have to compromise what God instructs.

This is part 3:

Obedience Training: A Must!!

The Christian man purposed for me will be obedient to God and expect me to be obedient.

 

Some verses on obedience in God’s Word:

 

1 Peter 1:14-16

As obedient children, do not be conformed to the former lusts which were yours in your ignorance, but like the Holy One who called you, be holy yourselves also in all your behavior; because it is written, “YOU SHALL BE HOLY, FOR I AM HOLY.”

 

The Greek word for obedient in this verse is hupakoe which means:

obedience, compliance, submission

obedience rendered to anyone’s counsels,

an obedience shown in observing the requirements of Christianity

 

In this verse, we can see clearly what obedient followers of Christ will not follow the lusts and desires in the life previous to coming to Christ.  The verse also shows that, as a Christian one is CALLED to a holy life.  Obedience is not something to be forced.  As we see in Romans 16:6, you “present” yourself as obedient.

 

Romans 6:16

Do you not know that when you present yourselves to someone as slaves for obedience, you are slaves of the one whom you obey, either of sin resulting in death, or of obedience resulting in righteousness?

 

We are to follow the Lord, obey Him, listen to Him, serve Him, and cling to Him.

Deuteronomy 13:4

“You shall follow the LORD your God and fear Him; and you shall keep His commandments, listen to His voice, serve Him, and cling to Him.

 

In obedience to God, we will DO what he commands of us.

James 1:22

But prove yourselves doers of the word, and not merely hearers who delude themselves.

 

Luke 6:46

“Why do you call Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ and do not dowhat I say?

Doers (do) is the word Poietes (poieo) which means

1.      maker, a producer, author

2.      a doer, performer

3.      one who obeys or fulfils the law

4.      a poet

By being obedient to God, glory is brought to Him, and others see the Grace of God in us.

 

2 Corinthians 9:13-14

Because of the proof given by this ministry, they will glorify God for your obedience to your confession of the gospel of Christ and for the liberality of your contribution to them and to all, while they also, by prayer on your behalf, yearn for you because of the surpassing grace of God in you.

 

Every person is called to obey God:

 

Ecclesiastes 12:13

The conclusion, when all has been heard, is: fear God and keep His commandments, because this applies to every person.

 

Our obedience brings about promises from God.  Being an example of obedience to God before children teaches them what is right in the eyes of God:

Deuteronomy 12:28 (NIV)

 Be careful to obey all these regulations I am giving you, so that it may always go well with you and your children after you, because you will be doing what is good and right in the eyes of the LORD your God.

 

If we are living a life of obedience, we can have confidence before God when we petition Him.

1 John 3:21-24 (NIV)

 Dear friends, if our hearts do not condemn us, we have confidence before God and receive from him anything we ask, because we obey his commands and do what pleases him. And this is his command: to believe in the name of his Son, Jesus Christ, and to love one another as he commanded us.   Those who obey his command live in him, and he in them. And this is how we know that he lives in us: We know it by the Spirit he gave us

 

He promised to give the Holy Spirit to those who obey:

Acts 5:32

And we are witnesses of these things; and so is the Holy Spirit, whom God has given to those who obey Him.”        

 

We are promised to be accepted by God when we are obedient:

Acts 10:34-35

 Opening his mouth, Peter said: “I most certainly understand now that God is not one to show partiality, but in every nation the man who fears Him and does what is right is welcome to Him.

 

We are promised eternal salvation and inheritance of the Kingdom, when we are obedient:

Hebrews 5:9

And having been made perfect, He became to all those who obey Him the source of eternal salvation,

 

James 2:5

Listen, my beloved brethren: did not God choose the poor of this world to be rich in faith and heirs of the kingdom which He promised to those who love Him?

You may have noticed that James 2:5 does not specifically mention obedience, but love.  Let’s look at the Bible’s definition of love:

John 14 defines love as obedience (verses 15-31)

“If you love Me, you will keep My commandments.  I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may be with you forever; that is the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it does not see Him or know Him, but you know Him because He abides with you and will be in you.  I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you.  After a little while the world will no longer see Me, but you will see Me; because I live, you will live also. In that day you will know that I am in My Father, and you in Me, and I in you. He who has My commandments and keeps them is the one who loves Me; and he who loves Me will be loved by My Father, and I will love him and will disclose Myself to him.” Judas (not Iscariot) said to Him, “Lord, what then has happened that You are going to disclose Yourself to us and not to the world?” Jesus answered and said to him, “If anyone loves Me, he will keep My word; and My Father will love him, and We will come to him and make Our abode with him. He who does not love Me does not keep My words; and the word which you hear is not Mine, but the Father’s who sent Me.  These things I have spoken to you while abiding with you. But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all that I said to you. Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful. You heard that I said to you, ‘I go away, and I will come to you.’ If you loved Me, you would have rejoiced because I go to the Father, for the Father is greater than I.  Now I have told you before it happens, so that when it happens, you may believe. I will not speak much more with you, for the ruler of the world is coming, and he has nothing in Me; but  so that the world may know that I love the Father, I do exactly as the Father commanded Me. Get up, let us go from here.

 

1 John 5:3

For this is the love of God, that we keep His commandments; and His commandments are not burdensome.

 

2 John 1:6

 And this is love: that we walk in obedience to his commands. As you have heard from the beginning, his command is that you walk in love.

 

 

What does God’s Word says about those who do NOT obey:

1 John 2:4

The one who says, “I have come to know Him,” and does not keep His commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him;

 

Ephesians 5:5-7

 Let no one deceive you with empty words, for because of these things the wrath of God comes upon the sons of disobedience. Therefore do not be partakers with them

 

It is very apparent from reading God’s Word; LOVE for GOD is OBEDIENCE to HIM. To obey, you must believe. Do you believe in God? Do you believe God sent Christ to pay the price of your sins? Do you love God? Do you SAY you love peple but just not those people who are hard to love? If you CLAIM to be saved, your life should model obedience to God. Do you OBEY GOD? If you CLAIM to have eternal life, your life should be one filled with practical examples of loving others and God. Do you love God? If so, then you should obey God. Do you?

This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Marriage, Christian Submission, Godly Obedience and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

